MathSoc - UNSW Mathematics Society

The UNSW Mathematics Society (MathSoc) is a student society affiliated with the School of Mathematics and Statistics at UNSW Sydney. However, anyone interested in maths can join. MathSoc is one of the largest societies at UNSW, with over 3000 members – membership spans from first year students to School staff!

MathSoc’s main goals include:

  • Informing students of maths-related opportunities in their studies and careers, at university and beyond, with course information sessions and career-focused events;
  • Enhancing the sense of community among UNSW maths students through various social events and activities such as BBQs and sports days;
  • Supporting maths students in their studies with MathSoc’s extensive resources and helpful forums.

MathSoc aims to make your university experience even more fun and fulfilling!

Contact MathSoc at:
Connect with MathSoc on Facebook:
Visit MathSoc's website:

MathSoc 2021 Executive Team

President: Grace Li
Vice President: Philton Zhu
Secretary & Grievance Officer: Justin Clarke
Treasurer: Merry Chu
Arc Delegate: Gerald Huang


Education Directors: John Kameas, Raymond Li, Gorden Zhuang
Events (Corporate) Directors: Ting Li, Andrew William
Events (Socials) Directors: Daniel Kim, Vedant Rampal
HR Directors: Katherine Bai, Christopher Wu
IT Director: Andrew Xie
Marketing Directors: Gowtham Ravikumar, Celeste Thomson, Jessica Zheng
Sponsorship Directors: Abhi Khosla, Jordan Shen

MathSoc 2020 Executive TeamMathSoc Exec Team 2020

President: Zhijian James Gao
Vice President: Yuseph Ma
Secretary: Grace Li
Treasurer: Rui Tong
Arc Delegate: Jason Zhao
Education Directors: Alex Zhu, Abdellah Islam, Gerald Huang
Events Directors (Social): Wendy Zhang and Philton Zhu
Events Directors (Corporate): Winston Sun and Lauren Wu
Marketing DirectorsCeleste Thomson and Isabella Falanga
Sponsorship Directors: Nancy Yu and Christopher Wu
IT Director: Ethan Brown

MathSoc 2019 Executive Team

President: Eugenia Cao
Vice President: Andrew Antony
Secretary: Samir Md Mustavi
Treasurer: David Wassef
Arc Delegate: Stephanie Tong
Education Directors: James Gao & Rui Tong
Events Directors: Arnav Roy & Matthew Xu/Derek Sun
IT Director: Lucy Qiu
Marketing/multimedia Directors: Grace Li & Spencer Yang
Sponsorship Directors: Odelia Sze-To and James Lu

MathSoc 2018 Executive Team

President: Shahbaz Bains 
Vice President: Justin Huang  
Treasurer: Philippa Ma
Secretary: Andrew Antony
ARC Delegate: Yifan Shen
Education Director: Kevin Ge, & Alex Ling 
Events Directors: Eugenia Cao, David Wassef & Samir Mustavi 
IT Director: Gal Aharon
Marketing Directors: Andy Nguyen, Elie Sikh & Baktiar Niloy 
Sponsorship Directors: Amitoze Singh, Stephanie Si-Ning Tong & Brendon Yang 
HR Director: Henderson Koh 

MathSoc 2017 Executive Team

President: Robert Tan
Vice President: Toby Walmsley
Treasurer: Connie Kuo
Secretary: Suman Prusty
ARC Delegate: Sally Wang                                                                                                                                
Education Director: Aaron Hassan & Dominic Palanca
Events Directors: Henderson Koh & Philippa Ma
IT Director: Amitoze Singh
Marketing Directors: Yifan Shen & Shilong Zhu
Sponsorship Directors: Shahbaz Bains & Vishaal Nathan
Women's Director: Julia Renouf
Outreach Director: Andrew Anthony

MathSoc 2016 Executive Team

President: Treves Li
Vice President: Mimi Greenbaum
Treasurer: Robert Tan
Secretary: Toby Walmsley
ARC Delegate: Yongzhen Chen
Education Director: Vishaal Nathan & Henderson Koh
Events Directors: Sally Wang & Jamie Priest
IT Director: Brendan Trinh
Marketing Director: Mary Chen
Sponsorship Directors: Jack Gan & Yang Hu
Women's Director: Connie Kuo
Outreach Director: Thomas Sritharan