Annual Postgraduate Conference

All postgraduate students are given the opportunity to present their research at our Annual Postgraduate Conference, which takes place in August.

This one-day event showcases the innovative and cutting-edge research our students are achieving right now. The day features student presentations, plus a range of research posters are exhibited.

All staff and students are welcome! Lunch and refreshments will be provided. The day culminates in a prize-giving for the standout presentations of the day, as judged by a panel of staff members, followed by an after-party celebration on campus.

For participating students - About the conference:

This one-day event is an excellent opportunity to practice research communication skills, to find out what your peers have been up to, and to receive feedback from a broader base of people in the School outside of the scope of your regular supervisory team. You are also welcome to provide feedback to fellow students. The Postgraduate Conference is aligned with the Annual Reviews, so members of your review panel can get up to speed on what you have been working on before your review takes place. 

The inaugural Postgraduate Conference was held in 2014, and following its success has continued as an annual event. The student talks showcase the diverse and innovative research flowing from the PhD student cohort, and the schedule includes lengthier plenary sessions and talks by students which have recently been presented at overseas conferences. The 2015 event debuted a research poster competition, which has now become a permanent feature of the conference.

The event attracts a healthy audience including School staff members and students.

2020 Prize-winners

Our 2020 event was held fully online. 

Outstanding Talk Applied: Michael Denes
Pure: Nero (Ziyu) Li
Statistics: Fiona Kim
Contribution Award Haya Aldosari

2019 Prize-winners

Outstanding Talk Applied: Michael Denes
Pure: Kam Hung Yau
Statistics: Yi-Lung Chen

2018 Prize-winners

Outstanding Talk Applied: Harry Crimmins
Pure: Ed McDonald
Statistics: Thomas Whitaker
Outstanding Poster Eduardo Vitarelli de Queiroz
Contribution Award Fadi Antown

2017 Prize-winners

Outstanding Talk Applied: Alec Gilbert
Pure: Simon Macourt
Statistics: Thomas Stindl    
Outstanding Poster Anna McGann

2016 Prize-winners

Outstanding Talk Applied: Alec Gilbert
Pure: Adam Mammoliti
Statistics: Thais Rodrigues
Outstanding Poster Carlos Enrique Aya Moreno

More info...