Order of Australia awards for School members


Friday, 26th January 2018

It was wonderful news to learn that two of our School members have been honoured in the Australia Day awards this year.

Scientia Professor Trevor John McDougall was awarded the
            Companion of the Order of Australia (AC)

for eminent service to science, and to education, particularly in the area of ocean thermodynamics, as an academic, and researcher, to furthering the understanding of climate science, and as a mentor of young scientists.

The investiture ceremony for the AC will be at Government House in
Canberra on 4th May, with a dinner to follow.  The investiture ceremony
will be live-streamed on the morning of 4th May.

                                                                   A/Prof David Christopher Hunt was awarded the
                                                                             Medal of the Order of Australia
                                                                   for service to education, and to mathematics.

In further wonderful Australia Day news,
Scientia Professor Michelle Simmons from the ARC Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology, UNSW, was named 2018 Australian of the Year in recognition of her pioneering research and inspiring leadership in quantum computing. Professor Simmons was awarded the honour by Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull at a ceremony at Parliament House in Canberra.

                                                                  We also congratulate high school
                                                                  maths teacher Eddie Woo of Wootube
fame for being named
                                                                  2018 Local Hero.