Ranking our Research

#1 ranked in Australia

UNSW frequently ranks among the top universities worldwide for mathematics and statistics.

UNSW ranked first in Australia for Mathematics in the 20182015, 2014, 20132012 and 2011 Academic Ranking of World Universities.

The 2017 and 2016 U.S. News Global Universities Rankings placed us at number one in Australia for mathematics.

We have ranked in the top 4 in Australia for mathematics in the QS Rankings from 2015-2017.

In 2018, we ranked second in the country, and in the global top 25, for Oceanography. 

#1 funded in Australia

For three of the last five years, we received the most ARC Discovery Projects funding in the 01 Mathematical Sciences classification code of any School of mathematics and statistics in Australia. Likewise, under this code we have received the most ARC Discovery Projects funding totalled over the past two, three, four and five years.

Most prolific

We produced the highest number of academic papers published by any Australian school of mathematics between 2004 and 2014 (Thomson Reuters Essential Science Indicators).

Highly cited

For the decade 2004-14, UNSW ranked second nationally amongst mathematics schools in both total citations and citations per paper in mathematics (Thomson Reuters Essential Science Indicators).

Excellence in Research Australia

The 2015 Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) evaluation gave us the highest score, "well above world standard" in overall mathematical sciences, pure mathematics, and statistics. We received "above world standard" for applied mathematics.

Measures of Esteem

Several School members have been awarded medals and fellowships for their distinguished contributions to research and academic excellence in recent years.


Trevor McDougall was awarded the 2018 Companion of the Order of Australia, “For eminent service to science, and to education, particularly in the area of ocean thermodynamics, as an academic, and researcher, to furthering the understanding of climate science, and as a mentor of young scientists.”

David Hunt was awarded the 2018 Medal of the Order of Australia (General Division), “For service to education, and to mathematics.” 

Zdravko Botev was awarded a 2018 Australian Academy of Science Christopher Heyde Medal. Dr Botev was selected for this medal for his ground-breaking research into new methodologies for understanding the probabilities underlying high-cost, hard-to-predict events.

Jan Zika received a 2018 European Geosciences Union (EGU) Outstanding Early Career Scientist Award. Dr Zika was honoured by EGU for his important contributions to the Earth, planetary and space sciences.

Professor McDougall won the 2017 NSW Premier’s Prize for Science and Engineering, for Excellence in Mathematics, Earth Sciences, Chemistry and Physics. In 2015 he received the Australian Academy of Science Jaeger Medal, which honours the contribution to science in Australia of the late Professor John Jaeger FAA, FRS. 

Catherine Greenhill was awarded the Australian Academy of Science's 2015 Christopher Heyde Medal. The award recognises distinguished research in the mathematical sciences by researchers up to 15 years post-PhD in the calendar year of nomination. A/Prof Greenhill received the award jointly with Dr Scott Morrison from the Mathematical Sciences Institute at Australian National University.

Igor Shparlinski received a 2014 Discovery Outstanding Researcher Award (DORA), for his work in additive combinatorics, number theory and graph theory.

David Warton was announced as winner of the 2014 Christopher Heyde Medal, shortly after being awarded the Young Investigator Award (2014) from the American Statistical Association Section on Statistics and the Environment.

Josef Dick was awarded the Australian Mathematical Society Medal for 2014. The AustMS Medal is awarded to a society member less than 40 years of age who has outstanding research contributions. 


Chris Tisdell was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of NSW in 2018.

Trevor McDougall was announced a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union in 2018.

In 2015, Prof McDougall received an Australian Laureate Fellowship, while Fedor Sukochev received one in 2017. These Fellowships are the most prestigious research awards from the ARC. 

Prof McDougall joined the ranks of science greats as a Fellow of The Royal Society in 2012, and was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of NSW in 2015. 

Ian Sloan was elected a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society in early 2013. He joins an elite group of scientists from around the world, recognised for their contributions to the profession.

William Dunsmuir and Sue Wilson are Fellows of the American Statistical Association.

Several members of staff are Fellows of the Australian Academy of Science: Michael Cowling; Fedor Sukochev; Trevor McDougall; Colin Rogers; Igor Shparlinski; and Ian Sloan.

Several are Fellows of the Australian Mathematical Society: Michael Cowling; Ian Doust; James Franklin; Bruce Henry; David Hunt; Igor Shparlinski; Ian Sloan; and Chris Tisdell.

Bruce Henry and Ian Sloan are Fellows of the Australian Institute of Physics.

Prestigious grants

Scott Sisson received an ARC Future Fellowship in 2017 for his research project, "Frontiers in Data Science: Analysing Distribution as Data".

David Harvey received an ARC Future Fellowship in 2016 for his research project, "Counting points on algebraic surfaces". 

Future Fellowships aim to attract and retain the finest mid-career researchers.

Igor Shparlinski received a 2014 Discovery Outstanding Researcher Award (DORA).

Fedor Sukochev received a 2012 Discovery Outstanding Researcher Award (DORA) fellowship for his work in non commutative probability and analysis.

Discovery Early Career Researcher Awards (DECRAs) were conferred to Michael Feischl (2017), Anita Liebenau (2017), Peter Straka (2016) and Dmitry Zanin (2015). 
This esteemed award supports and advances promising early career researchers, promoting enhanced opportunities for diverse career pathways.

Publications by the School on MathSciNet

A listing of UNSW School of Mathematics and Statistics publications is available on MathSciNet (please note: a MathsSciNet subscription is required for access).